Art from the Comic-Con

I have so many pictures in my laptop that it’s impossible to get everything loaded and into a post. But, I might as well chip away at the stack. The reason most of you come to my site is because of the pictures (I have about 4,000 loaded already), so I figure I should share as many as I can. Here are a few items I picked up at Comic-Cons past.

Charles Vess’ Book of Ballads and Sagas

Charles Vess has beautiful fantasy artwork and I have several comics with his work. So, I was really happy to see him at a table and chatted him up a bit. Charles was giving away a preview of his then-upcoming personal project so I snagged one. It’s a thin, full-size, black-and-white promo that contains a couple of pages from a story written by Neil Gaiman and illustrated by Charles. What gorgeous stuff.

Charles Vess Book of Ballads and Sagas Promo booklet cover
Charles Vess Book of Ballads and Sagas Promo booklet #1

Charles Vess Book of Ballads and Sagas Promo booklet #1

Geoff Darrow’s Shaolin Cowboy

Geoff has done several projects for other people, but this is a solo comic book he’s created, co-written and illustrated. Shaolin Cowboy is a weird bit of science fiction-fantasy-western-dystopian-post-apocalyptic-drug-addled-European-comix-inspired comic book fun by one of the most detailed artists in the industry. Just the art alone is a viable reason to buy this book. It’s too bad Geof hasn’t made this story an on-going thing.  Here’s a print we bought form him a few years back. He added a little sketch of the monk’s head on the lower right corner.

Geof Darrow Shaolin Cowboy Print

Geof Darrow Shaolin Cowboy Print
Here’s a close up of a quick sketch Geof did when I was buying the print.
Geof Darrow Shaolin Cowboy Cover #1
Here’s what the published artwork looked like.

 

Instant Piano

Instant Piano was an anthology project put out by Dark Horse Comics (which I’ve always considered to be the HBO of comic books) that took some of the most inventive yet less well known creators and gave them free reign to write and draw some short stories. The following promo sheet was handed out at a table where all of them were signing stuff. I was already a big fan of Evan Dorkin’s Milk and Cheese, and Kyle Baker’s art on The Shadow (which was a series of very good stories but also a hilarious send-up of the Howard Chaykin mini-series). The other artists were: Mark Badger, Robbie Busch, and Stephen DeStefano. Funny story: All the guys sketched and signed the sheet. Kyle Baker was last. He said something to the effect that I should buy the book because it was going to be the greatest thing ever. I kind of chuckled. He shot me back a dirty look and said something like “It IS! Why are you laughing?” I smiled, picked up my promo sheet, and hurried away. I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t actually bought the books. Hmm. Add those to my list.

Instant Piano Comic Book Anthology Promo Sheet Sketches by Kyle Baker, Evan Dorkin, Robbie Busch, Stephen DeStefano, Mark Badger

And here’s your bonus: the covers to the Instant Piano Comics mini-series.

Dark Horse Comics - Instant Piano #1 Dark Horse Comics - Instant Piano #2 Dark Horse Comics - Instant Piano #3 Dark Horse Comics - Instant Piano #4

Author: comicsagogo.com

We like comics. And we like music. And we like movies. Pop culture is our game! But we also have a serious side. Current events, history, and politics are a part of the Comics A-Go-Go experience and we hope you find interesting things to read and look at while you traverse our website pages.

Leave a Reply

